What is Dyslexia?

Dyslexia is a common specific learning difficulty, generally referring to difficulties in reading, writing and spelling.

  • According to the definition from the International Dyslexia Association in 2002, dyslexia is a learning difficulty that is neurobiological in origin and not caused by a poor learning environment.

 

  • Students with dyslexia have a regular learning experience and normal intelligence. However they encounter great difficulty in word recognition, which leads to problems in reading comprehension and writing.

 

  • In recent years, functional magnetic resonance imaging has provided neurobiological evidence for the causes of dyslexia (Shaywitz & Shaywitz, 2005).

 

  • Some scholars have pointed out that a student’s dyslexic condition is not caused by one single problem, but by multiple cognitive impairments (Badian, 1997).

 

(Reference: Website of Hong Kong Specific Learning Difficulties Research Team)

  • The British Dyslexia Association pointed out in 2008 that primary school students with dyslexia often make spelling errors because they confusing words with similar glyphs and pronunciation.

 

  • Their muscle coordination is relatively poor, making it difficult to write, and there are often traces of correction in their homework.

 

  • In terms of reading, they are often reluctant to read articles out aloud, and it is easy for them to make pronunciation errors, or to skip words when reading. Hence they find it difficult to grasp the central idea and focus of the article.

 

(Reference: Website of Hong Kong Specific Learning Difficulties Research Team)

  • A study on dyslexia in Chinese language showed that impairment in phonological retrieval and orthographic awareness is most common in primary schoolchildren in Hong Kong (Ho, Chan, Tsang, & Lee, 2002; Ho, Chan, Lee, Tsang, & Luan, 2004).

 

  • Students with dyslexia have weaker working memory and are slower in information processing. As a result, their abilities in speech processing, visual and auditory cognition, concentration, left-right discrimination, sequencing and organization are also affected.

 

  • According to a study by the Research Team, the prevalence of dyslexia in Hong Kong is about 9.7% to 12.6%. About 6.2% to 8.7% of schoolchildren are mildly dyslexic, 2.2% to 2.3% are moderately dyslexic and 1.3% to 1.6% are severely dyslexic (Chan, Ho, Tsang, Lee & Chung, 2007).

 

(Reference: Website of Hong Kong Specific Learning Difficulties Research Team)

Is Your Child At Risk of Dyslexia?

If you suspect that your child is at risk of dyslexia, you may want to review the following list of symptoms and see if he or she shares any of those characteristics.  A high score indicates that the child is likely to be at risk.  You can leave us your contact information and we shall get in touch to help you work out a best solution for your child.

 

Please also leave your email address if you would like to receive information from us. Thank you!

(checklist available in Chinese only)

Pathways' Kindergarten & Primary Screening Service

Service Target

Pre-school and primary school children aged 4 or above suspected of having dyslexia.

Objectives

  1. To identify children at risk of dyslexia via screening tests.
  2. To provide advice on appropriate support services for the child and parents, based on the screening test results.

Duration

About 45 minutes

Fees

Please refer to service fees for details

Why should we take the Kindergarten & Primary Screening Service?

At the moment, it takes quite a long time for a child to wait for a full assessment on dyslexia to be conducted via the government or the school. During this period, the screening service from Pathways can help parents to have an initial understanding of their children’s literacy problems, and to arrange for early intervention if necessary.

We've taken the screening test. Why do we still need to undergo a comprehensive assessment?

The result from the screening test simply reflects the tendency of the child on being at risk of dyslexia, and is by no means a proper diagnosis. Parents who wish to apply for learning support at school will still have to submit diagnostic reports. Parents may consider to discuss with teachers and social workers for arranging a comprehensive assessment at school, or they can also take an assessment at private agencies. Assessment by the Clinical or Educational Psychology Support Service at Pathways can normally be arranged within one month.

(content in Chinese only)

To apply for the Kindergarten & Primary Screening Service, please call 2870 1377 for an appointment.

Stories from People with Dyslexia

Mr. Lowell Lo is a composer, singer, music producer, actor and environmentalist. Born in Hong Kong, he was educated in the United States. He composed more than 800 songs, scored more than 100 movies and won numerous awards. But in his younger days, dyslexia made learning very difficult for him. Later on, through the encouragement of his teacher and the help of his wife, he finally overcame his learning difficulties and figured out his own way to learn and cope. His success and achievements gradually helped him to redevelop his self-esteem and confidence.

 

(full article in Chinese only)

Dr. Lam Yee Lok holds a doctorate degree in urban ministry, and is the Chief Pastor of Crossroad Community Baptist Church. He is very eloquent and had performed stand-up comedies in the Hong Kong Stadium. However, success did not come easy for Dr. Lam. When he was a child, he stuttered a lot, and always confused “b” with “d”. His grades were poor. However he never evaded his dyslexic condition. Though his friends had advised him to give up his studies for the doctoral programme, he persevered and studied harder than others to finally complete the course.

 

(full article in Chinese only)

Veteran actress Ms. Barbara Chan attended artist training class shortly after graduating from high school.  She did well and got the chance to play main roles soon after debuting. Some time ago Barbara heard about a learning difficulty called dyscalculia, and she realized that she has such difficulty because she has always been afraid of mathematical calculations. Despite this, she still managed to become an outstanding artist, an advocate for parent education, and a capable and loving mother. It proved that people with learning difficulties can also be successful. This applies to children with dyslexia. Unleash their potential and they can grow up to become strong pillars of the society.

 

(full article in Chinese only)

Ms. “貴花田” joined RTHK in 1994 and later became the host of the programme “瘋show快活人”. During her primary and secondary school years, she saw her grades gradually declined. After completing Form 5, she became a radio programme host. During one episode, she learned about dyslexia and its symptoms, and she suddenly realized that she is in fact dyslexic. Later, a veteran in the media industry taught her recording skills, and she learnt to draw lines to break up sentences in articles or scripts, or make marks with slashes and circles. It then became much easier for her to understand the content, hence reducing the chances of “NG” during recording.

 

(full article in Chinese only)

Dr. Sarah Liao, senior consultant of The Hong Kong University, is the former Secretary for Environment, Transport and Works. When she was young, she often  wrote inverted characters without being aware of it. But she was diligent and hard-working, performing well in her studies.  She even managed to graduate from the University of Hong Kong. The younger son of Dr. Liao also struggled with his academic performance – it was still at a time when awareness of dyslexia was minimal. She tried to look around for help, and fortunately she came across a university professor and learned from him that those were symptoms of dyslexia. Dr. Liao encouraged parents of students with dyslexia to explore and cultivate the potential of their children, and they should set reasonable expectations for their children. All in all, parents of children with dyslexia must know about the strengths of their child, and leverage that to make up for their shortcomings.

 

(full article in Chinese only)


謝謝您對博思會通訊感興趣!
請檢查您的電子郵件收件箱以確認訂閱。

Thank you for your interest in receiving news from Pathways!
Please check your email inbox to confirm your subscription.


謝謝您對博思會通訊感興趣!
指定的電子郵件地址已訂閱,謝謝!

Thank you for your interest in receiving news from Pathways!
Your e-mail address has been added into our mailing list.

Skip to content

什麼是讀寫障礙?

讀寫障礙 (稱讀寫困難) 是一種常見的特殊學習困難,泛指閱讀、書寫或拼字方面的障礙。

  • 根據國際讀寫障礙協會 (International Dyslexia Association, 2002) 的定義,讀寫障礙是與神經系統有關的一種學習障礙而並非因學習環境不良所引致。

 

  • 這類學生雖然具有常規的學習經驗和正常的智力,但是在辨識文字方面卻遇上很大困難,從而出現閱讀理解和寫作上的問題。

 

  • 近年,功能磁力共振造影 (functional magnetic resonance imaging) 為讀寫障礙的成因提供神經生物學上的證據 (Shaywitz & Shaywitz, 2005)。

 

  • 有學者指出,讀寫障礙學生的情況並非由單一問題所造成,而是由多種認知能力缺損而形成 (Badian,1997)。

 

(資料參考:香港特殊學習困難研究小組網頁)

  • 英國讀寫障礙協會 (British Dyslexia Association, 2008) 指出,讀寫障礙的小學生經常寫錯字,容易混淆字形相似及讀音相似的字。

 

  • 他們肌肉協調能力較差導致執筆有困難,功課本上也常有擦改錯字的痕跡。

 

  • 閱讀方面,他們通常不願意朗讀文章,容易讀錯字或有跳讀的情況出現,對於掌握文章的中心思想與重點就更加困難。

 

(資料參考:香港特殊學習困難研究小組網頁)

  • 一項有關小學生中文讀寫障礙的研究顯示,本港學童在語音檢索 (phonological retrieval) 及字形結構意識 (orthographic awareness) 的缺損最為普遍 (Ho, Chan, Tsang, & Lee, 2002; Ho, Chan, Lee, Tsang, & Luan, 2004)。

 

  • 讀寫障礙學生的運作記憶較弱,信息處理的速度也較慢,語音處理、視覺及聽覺認知能力、專注力、左右分辨、列序或組織能力亦會受到影響。

 

  • 根據本研究小組的一項研究結果,讀寫障礙的普遍比率約為9.7%至12.6%,約6.2%至8.7%的學童屬於輕度讀寫障礙、約2.2%至2.3%屬於中度及約1.3%至1.6%的學童屬於嚴重程度 (Chan, Ho, Tsang, Lee & Chung, 2007)。

 

(資料參考:香港特殊學習困難研究小組網頁)

你的子女有讀寫障礙傾向嗎?

如家長懷疑孩子有讀寫障礙傾向,可先檢閱以下表徵清單;
若發現孩子有多方面的情況出現,孩子有機會有讀寫障礙,
您可選擇留下您的聯絡資料,讓我們與您聯繫,為您分憂,及早找出解決方案。

如有興趣訂閱我們的資訊,亦歡迎提供 閣下的電郵地址。謝謝!

博思會讀寫障礙傾向甄別測驗

服務對象

4歲或以上懷疑有讀寫障礙的學前及小學學童

目標

  1. 透過甄別測驗識別有讀寫障礙傾向的學童。
  2. 根據測驗結果,為學童及家長提供適切的支援服務建議。

時間

約 45 分鐘

收費

詳見服務收費

為何要進行讀寫障礙甄別測驗?

現時於政府或學校等候全面讀寫障礙評估需時較長,而博思會提供的甄別測驗服務,能協助家長在輪候期間,初步了解子女的讀寫問題,並及早作出支援。

完成甄別測驗,仍須接受全面評估?

甄別測驗結果反映學童的讀寫障礙傾向,並不等同確診。家長如向學校申請學習支援和服務,仍須提交讀寫障礙確診證明。家長可考慮與學校老師、社工商討在校接受全面評估,亦可於私營服務機構評估,而博思會提供的臨床或教育心理學支援服務,通常可於一個月內安排評估。

如需讀寫障礙甄別測驗服務,敬請致電 2870 1377 預約。

過來人分享

盧冠廷先生是一位作曲家、歌手、音樂監製、演員及環保人士。在香港出生的他,於美國接受教育。他創作超過800首歌曲,為超過100齣電影配樂,獲得無數獎項。但在他的成長時期,讀寫障礙令他在學習上困難重重。後來透過良師鼓勵、賢妻相助、一直不間斷的學習,他透過克服困難,有所成就和贏得勝利,逐漸建立起他的自尊和自信。

林以諾博士擁有城市宣教博士學位,同時為阡陌社區浸信會的主任牧師,他口才了得,更把棟篤笑帶入香港紅磡體育館。但他的成功得來不易,他小時候說話結結巴巴,總是把「陳大文」唸作「陳文大」、英文字b看成d,結果成績很差。面對讀寫障礙,他從不逃避,身旁好友曾勸他放棄博士課程,但他決不就範,整天書不離手,付出比別人更多的努力,終於成功完成博士課程。

資深藝人陳敏兒中學畢業後不久,便報讀藝人訓練班,出道後平步青雲,成為一線女主角。陳敏兒近年得知有一種學習困難是數學運算障礙,她知道自己也有這樣的困難。從小到大,她都非常害怕數學運算。陳敏兒雖然有學習困難,也能成為一位出色的藝人、家長教育的推動者和能幹的母親,證明有學習困難的人也能成為成功人士。好像讀寫障礙的小朋友一樣,只要好好發展他們的潛能,子女們也能成為社會明日的棟樑。

貴花田1994年加入香港電台工作,後來成為《瘋show快活人》的主持人。在她小學、中學時期,成績逐漸下降。完成中五課程後,輾轉投身電台節目主持行業。在一次節目中,她認識到讀寫障礙。當中列舉的徵狀,就像自己的寫照,才赫然發現自己也是一名讀障人士。機缘巧合,一位傳媒界的前輩教授貴花田錄音技巧,自始她用筆把文章或稿件的句子劃開,或用斜撇和圓圈作標記。她較以前明白文章的內容,克服了經常 “NG”的情況。

香港大學校長資深顧問廖秀冬,是前環境運輸及工務局長。這位能幹的女子,年幼時常把字倒轉來寫也不自知,但靠著她的乖功勤奮,學業成績一直名列前茅,並畢業於最高學府—香港大學。廖秀冬的小兒子的學習一直強差人意,那年頭沒有人認識讀寫障礙。於是廖博士四出尋找答案,幸好從一位大學教授那裡得知這是讀寫障礙的特徵。廖秀冬以過來人的身份,勉勵讀寫障礙學生的家長;要發掘並好好栽培孩子的潛能,要對子女定出底線和合理的期望。總括而言:讀寫障礙孩子是極需要家長「知其所長,補其所短」。


謝謝您對博思會通訊感興趣!
請檢查您的電子郵件收件箱以確認訂閱。

Thank you for your interest in receiving news from Pathways!
Please check your email inbox to confirm your subscription.


謝謝您對博思會通訊感興趣!
指定的電子郵件地址已訂閱,謝謝!

Thank you for your interest in receiving news from Pathways!
Your e-mail address has been added into our mailing list.

Skip to content